Which order do you think the books should be read in?

What order?

• Written (LWW, PC, VoDT...)

Votes: 87 46.0%
  • Chronological (MN, LWW, HHB...)

Votes: 89 47.1%
  • Other (Please specify)

Votes: 13 6.9%

• Total voters

mspin

I am a 5th grade teacher and I read ALL 7 books to my class. I read them IN THE ORDER OF PUBLICATION!!!
I can't imagine reading them any other way. The Magician's Nephew is magical and wonderous because we know what is going to happen. I get chills reading about the creation of the lampost. If you haven't read LWW, that scene would be meaningless.

The only reason STAR WARS Episode 1 & 2 are any good is because we know who Anakin is going to become. IT'S KINDA THE SAME THING HERE.

Any thoughts?

I beg to differ. After reading Magician's Nephew, reading Lion, Witch, and Wardrobe would be that much more of an "Oh! Wow! This is awesome!" experience--you'd know where everybody had come from: that the witch is Jadis, and how horrible of a person she is. It's character build-up. Have you ever read The Iliad or The Odyssey? They both have extreme amounts of character definition in them; that's why people still read them today--the characters are so well-described!
The scene with the creation of the lamp-post would not be meanignless--it would show you how young the world is; that's why Aslan explains it all to them.
I can barely stand episode 1 & 2, diehard STAR WARS fan that I be--the plot is nonexistant. But that's another can o' worms.
Now that I'm done raving, welcome to the site! :D

I think that either way you read 'em, MN and LWW are full of things to be surprised about. I read MN first by mistake, and then went in chronological order, and I still enjoyed the books every bit as much. Anybody want to dig up old Lewis and ask his opinion on all this? ;) just kidding